Parliament is the legislative body of the federal government. Articles 79-122 of the Constitution deal with the composition, organization, duration, officers, procedures, authority, etc. of the parliament.

The parliament consists of three parts: the president, the state council, and the house of the People. Rajya Sabha is the House is the upper house(Second chamber or House of Elders) and Lok Sabha is the Lower house(First chamber or Popular house). The President of India is not a member of either parliament, and is not sitting in parliament to attend their sessions. The president is an integral part of parliament. This is because the bill passed by both houses cannot become a bill without the approval of the president. The president also invites both chambers of parliament. Compatible with both the houses

Composition of two houses-

Rajya Sabha Composition- Rajyasabha is the Senate of Parliament. Its maximum strength is set at 250, of which 238 are representatives of state and union territory and 12 are nominated by the president. Currently, Rajya Sabha has 245 members, of which 229 represent the state and 4 represent the state. Union territory and 12 shall be nominated by the President.

1. State Representatives -The state representatives of Rajyasabha are elected by elected members of the Legislative Assembly. Rajya Sabha is elected according to a proportional representation system using STV (single transferable vote).

2. Nominated Members- The President appoints 12 members to Rajyasabha from among individuals with special knowledge of the arts, literature, science and social services.

Lok Sabha Composition- Lok Sabha is the House of Representatives. Its maximum strength is 552. Of these, 530 are represented by the state, 20 are represented by Union Territory, and two are appointed by the President of the Anglo-Indian Community. As of , Lok Sabha has 545 members. Of these, 530 are representatives of the state, 13 are under Union territory, and two Anglo-Indian members have been nominated by the President.

1.State Representatives -Lok Sabha’s state representatives are directly elected by the members of the state’s territory. Elections are based on universal adult suffrage.

2.Nominated Members-The president can nominate two members from the Anglo-Indian community if the community is not adequately represented in the Lok Sabha.