Articles 74 and 75 of the Constitution of India deal centrally with the Parliamentary Government. Parliamentary government is also known as the Cabinet Office or Westminster Government model. The parliamentary system is a responsible form of government due to the relationship between the legislature and the executive branch, and the head of government is the prime minister. The basis of political power is the head of state, and the power of the head of state is completely nominal. In this form of government, the head of state is either a monarch or a president. The real power is actually in the executive branch and is exercised by the prime minister. The executive branch is headed by the prime minister, and the cabinet has voted no confidence. The administration is responsible for the parliament. The parliamentary system does not set deadlines for the cabinet and parliament.

Characteristics of the parliamentary system-

The parliamentary government has the following characteristics.

1) Party rule is the majority -In a parliamentary government, party rule is the majority. Sabha’s electoral government, and its party leaders, are appointed prime minister by the president.

2) Real Administrative Officer and Nominal Prime Minister -Since the real administrative officer is the Prime Minister and the nominal administrative officer is the President, the President is the Head of State and the Prime Minister is the Head of Government.

3) Prime Minister’s Leadership- In a parliamentary government, the Prime Minister plays a leading role. The prime minister is the head of government, the head of the Council of Ministers, and the leader of political parties.

4) Collective Accountability -The Council of Ministers is collectively accountable to Lok Sabha and Parliament. The Council of Ministers works as a team, swimming and sinking together. Lok Sabha can dismiss the Council of Ministers.

5) Secrecy-The Council of Ministers operates in accordance with the principles of procedural secrecy and, after taking office, takes a secret oath. A secret oath to the Council of Ministers is made by the President.