One Must Know About These Certification Marks

A certification mark shows that goods, services, or providers of those goods and services have met certain standards as per the regulations laid down by government of India.

Government of India has created some standards for almost every product to protect the economic interests of all citizens. Following are the some of the most essential certification marks to protect the consumer rights –


Who issues : Directorate of Marketing and Inspection of the Government of India

Product Category : Agricultural products

Effective since : 1937 (amended in 1986)

AGMARK is a certification mark employed on agricultural products in India, assuring that the product is of standard quality.

2. ISI Mark :

Who issues :Bureau of Indian Standard

Product Category : Industrial products

Effective since : 1955

ISI Mark is certification mark for industrial products. The mark certifies that a product conforms to a set of standards laid by Bureau of Indian Standard, the natural standard organisation in India.

3. BIS hallmark :

Who issues : Bureau of Indian Standards

Product Category: Gold and Silver jewellery

Effective since : gold (2000), silver(2005)

BIS mark is a certified Hallmark sign on gold as well as silver jewellery. This sign certifies the purity of metal.

4. FPO Mark :

Who issues : Ministry of food Processing Industries

Product Category : Processed fruit products

Effective since : 1955 (Mandatory in 2006)

FPO Mark is a certification mark mandatory on all processed fruit products sold in India such as packaged fruit beverages, fruit jams, squashes, pickles, etc following the Food Safety and Standards Act of 2006. This mark guarantees that product was manufactured in a hygienic and safe environment.

5. Ecomark :

Who issues : Bureau of Indian Standards

Product Category : Eco friendly products

Effective since: 1991

Ecomark is a certification mark issued by Bureau of Indian Standards to products confirming to a set of standards aimed at the least impact on ecosystem. The purpose of the mark is to increase awareness among consumers towards reducing negative environment impact.

6. Non Polluting Vehicle Mark :

Who issues : Central Pollution Control Board of India

Product Category : Automobiles

This is a mandatory certification mark required on all new motor vehicles sold in India. The mark certifies that motor vehicles conforms to the relevant version of Bharat Stage Emissions Standard. The validity of this certificate is limited for a period of 6 months from the date of sale of vehicle.

7. India Organic :

Who issues : APEDA (Agricultural and Processed Food Products Export Development Authority)

Product Category : Organic food

Effective since : 2002

India Organic is a certification mark for organically farmed food products manufactured in India. These standards ensure that the product or raw materials used in product were grown through organic farming, without the use of chemical fertilizers, pesticides, or induced hormones.